Mead High School

about us

Program Overview

Mead’s Maverick Band was founded in 2009 with the opening of the new Mead High School. The band began with 32 members, all of whom were freshmen and sophomores.

Upon opening, the school set out to create a world-class band program focused on a great sound with emphasis on individual development as the means to benefit the program. Since 2009, the band has grown by 300 percent and consistently sends multiple students to All-State Concert/Symphonic Band, All-State Jazz Band, SVVSD Honor Band, Combined League Honor Band and Patriot League Honor Band.

The band has participated in the Cañon City Blossom Festival, UNC Jazz Festival, Skyline Jazz Festival, Silver Creek Festival, CU Band Day, Legend Marching Invitational, and recently had the opportunity to perform at Disneyland.

Our band strives to promote great citizenship, excellent musicianship and the highest level of camaraderie between bands.


2015-2016 Schedule

  • Home Football Game – 9/4
  • Home Football Game – 9/11
  • LOCOmotion Parade – 9/12
  • Mead Community Days Parade – 9/12
  • Home Football Game – 9/25
  • Home Football Game – 10/2
  • St. Vrain Band Night – 10/7
  • Mead Homecoming – 10/10
  • CU Band Day – 10/11
  • Mead Percussion Ensemble – 10/14
  • Mead Jazz Band – 10/15
  • Mead Holiday Gala – 12/8 and 12/9

Meet the Director

Josh Kirkwood

Joshua Kirkwood graduated from the University of Northern Colorado (UNC) in 2006, with a Bachelor’s of Music Education. He studied under Gray Barrier during his time at UNC. Kirkwood has also studied under Nancy Zeltsman, Gordon Stout, Ariko Daimo and Jack Van Geem.

Kirkwood began his teaching career at Westminster Elementary School before moving to St. Vrain Valley Schools. He taught at Frederick Elementary for one year prior to being hired to open Mead High School.


This Year's Seniors

Seniors L to R: Michael Caraballo, Julia Oster, Kate Nieusma, Delia Lynch, Megan Uhlry, Nick Nieusma, Emily Alsko, Riley Emlano, Joe Wojciechowski, Ian MacNeil, Gabriella Aragon, Eric Feaster, Natalie Wallace, Maggie Barnes, Russell Schaaf, Tylia Reeves, Chad “CJ” Jacquet

Stay Connected

© 2015 St. Vrain Valley Schools. All rights reserved.

Back to Homepage >>